Weekend Reads

December 2021

  • This week on the Lindy Newsletter, I wrote about whether the CEO of JPMorgan is right when he said his bank will outlive the Chinese Communist Party. Will it? Large corporations are fragile to internal divisions and black swan events. What are the tricks they play on government and people to survive? I also give my own Lindy Bets.

  • Ever notice movie dialogue is getting more difficult to understand? Something happened 15 years ago and now most movies are hard to hear. I have no clue why. Take Dune as a recent example of a hard to hear movie. Perhaps it is part of movies also looking the same, becoming darker and more saturated. During the pandemic, I started re-watching older movies (anything pre 2000). I've discovered, and in some cases re-discovered, how much I prefer the older movies over newer ones.

  • This person bet $400,000 on a single stock on Robinhood and lost it all. Robinhood is an interesting app because it makes buying stocks so easy and addictive. It's really easy to get into the habit of checking it every day and making trades. Fifty percent of users check it every day. An incredibly high figure.

  • My shoulder finally healed after about 4 months. I've gotten back into doing the overhead press. It's a great exercise for your bones and skeleton. The key is the hip thrust.

  • Why are so many video games violent?

I remember playing this game. Just driving around. Such a mood game. Has a story but its short. You can just roam around enjoying the mood.