Weekend Reads

August 2022

This Week on the Lindy Newsletter

I wrote about modern media literacy. Essentially, there are two components of culture these days. The top-down 20th century old model of certain people in influential spaces telling everyone what's good. The second is the new algorithmic, popularity-driven creator ecosystem in which a formula tell you what you like. Both of these systems have their pros and cons.

Do you want to be told what you like by people or computers? And do you want to be aware that it's a recommendation or not?

Weekend Reads

As I age, I've learned to distinguish "not being excited" (languor) and "being tired" (exhaustion), which to my younger self felt like the same thing. The former is not always caused by a lack of energy, but also excessive idleness, especially if I'm doing things that requires attention but also isn't intellectually stimulating. Doing stimulating things (exercise, reading aloud, singing) can usually bring me out of the state of languor. Just getting that adrenaline rush is enough to jolt me back to life (and thus I don't think of it as recharging; more like a jump start). If I'm exhausted, I can feel gravity in my joints, and I'll have to rest. Regular sleep, exercises, and generally keeping a good health is the only way I can combat exhaustion.

We live with other people. And other people, including myself, work on a 9-5 schedule. Even if you are self employed, you feel it

In the middle ages there was a form of justice called ordeals. Basically, a priest would declare you guilty and plunge your hands in very hot water. It sounds ridiculous, but there is interesting logic behind it.

Men's watches aren't going away anytime soon. Especially since they are the only piece of jewelry a man can wear to show off his wealth.

Jacob Riis maps out the people of New York City in 1890.

in the 1970s, Italian singer Adriano Celentano believed any song would become popular if it just sounded American. So he wrote gibberish lyrics that sounded like English to Italian ears. The song went to number 5 in the charts. 

The fires below. The world’s least understood ignition source is causing devastating wildfires across Montana’s Powder River Basin.

Loved the way this video showed the living conditions through pictures the old and the new New York. Very interesting to see how the changes happened.

Can e-bikes with cargo storages be the future of urban transportation?

Music